The Journey of love

School wasn’t boring save for the long distances I had to walk to and from for the most sought after knowledge. Over the years, I had made a few friend here and there during my walks and in school. It was a Friday, schools had closed for the year and I had just sat for my final exams. Sitting at home and helping around the house wasn’t a bad option but a bit boring for a lass. I had to come up with an idea to escape from this daily routine. Funds were hard to come by and I knew chances of me being able to join high school were close to nil. The more reason why I had to go out there and look for something to help occupy my erratic mind.

Young, naive, drop dead gorgeous and just out of school, I headed off to my aunt’s place. She lived in a somewhat urban area compared to where my parents lived. It was a small tea farming town but full of life. I fell in love with the place the moment I stepped out of the matatu. This was my second time visiting the place and I just couldn’t get enough of its beauty. Not to talk about the young handsome men who went about their duties. The nature of their jobs led them to have well-toned bodies that were irresistible. I couldn’t help but stare at them for a while until someone nudged me from behind. It was my aunt who had come to pick me up from the bus station.  

I had a small metal box that contained my few belongings which was a little heavy for my tiny self to carry around. Thankfully, a young man who knew my aunt offered to carry it for me. We chatted all the way to my aunt’s place and with time we became good friends and he always offered to show me around town and help me with some chores like fetching firewood. Life wasn’t as interesting as I had thought it would be but I was determined to make the best out of it rather than go back home. I convinced my aunt to enroll me into a tailoring course. With the help of my dad, they were able to raise funds to pay the famous town fundi to show me the ropes and hopefully become as artistic as he was.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

